Some reading over Memorial Day weekend

It’s miserable weather here in Houston. Day 2 of a raging thunderstorm sees the dogs cowering next to me at my writing table, and the children home.

Last night was more than a little rough, with periodic alarms from flash flood warnings punctuating my sleep, and an automated phone call from the school at 4.29am (I checked) to report countywide school closures due to flooding and power outages. So today I’ve been catching up on reading various articles.

Normally, I share them on Facebook, but there have been so many fabulous ones, that I thought I’d share them here.

  • This one on from March on some of the reasons for the rise in popularity of Donald Trump.
  • This one on the rise of Priyanka Chopra and the lack of resonance she has as a representative of women of colour, or women of Indian heritage in the U.S.
  • Then there’s this brilliant one by Clementine Ford on the need for, and value of women’s only spaces.
  • In the same vein, is this one about strong friendships, cliques, and feelings of alienation.
  • Or this wonderful one by my dear friend Avital Norman Nathman on Lazy Parenting.
  • And finally, this terrific essay by Sarah Troop, and this required reading on the origins of Memorial Day. Both of these essays are excellent, evocative pieces that are absolutely worth your time to read.

Whatever you’re doing this weekend, I hope you find some time to read at least a few of these essays.

If you’re in the U.S., I hope you take the time to at least read the last two. There’s a hidden history that needs to be made more public.

Leave a Reply

